Tutorial #2

June 14, 2013

My second tutorial went well. Dr. Ballam gave me another A – this time he said it was a “resounding A,” in fact. This essay went up 5 points to a 75. He said that I have the unique ability to call a spade a spade and still sound academic. One particular phrase he attributed to me was that I had an “idiomatic tone.” One reason I think I write this way that is because I love Ralph Ellison, and that is how he writes. In many ways, I instinctively think like him now, and it comes out in my writing. Hey, he is not a bad person to imitate!

Image

The tutorial this week was on Merchant of Venice. What a play! Shylock is one of the most memorable characters in the history of the Western literary canon. I enjoyed our discussion about it.

Image

Leave a Reply

