Tutorial #3: Complete!

Monday, June 17, 2013

Now, after meeting with Dr. Ballam today, I have one more essay and tutorial left. This one today was on Antony and Cleopatra. I got another A, a 72. I did not have much time to write this one. My last tutorial was Friday, and this one was Monday. Thankfully, I foresaw this time crunch, and planned accordingly. Still, I felt the essay was rushed. Nonetheless, my ideas were original, and I felt I contributed to the body of knowledge surrounding this play. Man, I love Harold Bloom’s essays on Shakespeare. His book, Shakespeare: The Invention of the Human have been great entries into thinking about my own ideas. What I would do without him?

Image

Image

Dr. Ballam is an awesome guy also. We had another great conversation. He knows everything! I mean, really, he is one of the most well-versed men I know – what a wellspring of knowledge. Nothing gets pass him. He has taught me so much. Every time I leave I wish I could stay longer. Antony and Cleopatra is one of my favorite Shakespeare plays. The plot is amazing. I literally could not put it down while I was reading it, and basically read the whole thing in one sitting. I feel I am really getting what Shakespeare is about now. I always liked reading him, but I now see why people talk about him so much. This guy was on another level. His insights into human nature are mind-blowing, and not even Dostoevsky, Twain, and Ellison (that hurts to say because Ellison is my role model!) come close.

(Dr. John Ballam)

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

