Last Tutorial and Jekyll and Hyde Play

Thursday, June 20, 2013

So today was my last tutorial. I cannot believe that it is over already. It was on Othello. I must admit. This was not my best work. My ambitious mind got the best of me, and I went for too much, but Dr. Ballam said he respected the effort. He still gave me an A. I had to write three 8-10 page essays in like nine days, and I was not used to that. By the time I got to the last one, I got burned out! I will get an A for the class, and again, he reiterated that he likes the way I think. He says I still have some work to do on tying in all the ideas I have learned from other classes in a more coherent way. Nonetheless, he said he likes the fact that I tie in all those ideas, and called it “very impressive.” I am such a better scholar after this month, and I cannot help but say, “God, thank you!”

Image

 

I have been busy the last few days trying to get everything together for my next research project at Stanford University, which starts on Monday. I have felt obligated to juggle the end of this time here with taking care of business related to Stanford, but it is so worth it.

Image

I went to see Jekyll and Hyde at Blackwell’s Bookstore (which by the way, is one of the most famous bookstores in the world, and it is in Oxford). It was great. I had never read the book, but I kept up with the play fairly well. It has a gothic feel to it, and it deals with issues related to the limits of science and knowledge, and of course, split personality. One person plays all seven characters, and he did a marvelous job with it! Molly and I (we went to the play together) got a picture with him afterwards. Also, they had a lecture afterwards by a professor who had written the foreword to the last edition of the novel. Well, actually it was a panel, but only two people really talked on the panel. It was a great day!

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

